Hi All, I'm new to domo and I've a question on Table joins.

I have two tables table A and table B. Table A is my fact table and Table B is a dimension table. I should do left join since Table A is my fact table. The issue when I do it the total bookings and capacity value in Table B is getting duplicated. I know this is due to many to 1 relationship. when I calculate Total bookings percentage this is giving me wrong values in the card. Can you tell me how to solve this issue ? I've attached here the table pictures and resulting output table I'm getting after I do the left join.

Also I wanted to know, do we need to use only 1 output data set to build cards ? (or) we can use multiple output datasets to build cards and put it in dashboard and does filters work on those cards ?

Answers

• Jones01
    Jones01 Contributor
    edited October 23

@Shalini hi, are you joining on property id and check in date? it looks like you may be only joining with the property id.

on a dashboard the cards can be using different datasets but as long as the column names match then filters will works across all of them where it can find a column with the same name

• Think of a dashboard as a collection of cards. You can have several cards on the dashboard. They can be text/table cards, charts, etc. Each card would use a single dataset.

If you are joining the datasets, you would create a Magic ETL to handle the logic. In this brief example, we would take two datasets, join them and handle the aggregates with a group tile. Say for example, we want to group totals by date.

Our card would use the output dataset (factdimensions_test).

Inside the card, you can do filtering. Or, you could add the card to a dashboard. And add a filter card to the dashboard. The filter card would affect all cards on the dashboard that have the common dataset and field name of the filter.

** Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below. **
    ** Did this solve your problem? Accept it as a solution! **