Made and worked on a copy of an ETL; want to delete original

Options

Hello,

I started working on an ETL and then later made changes to a copy of it. I want to delete the original in order to keep the Domo instance clean (the completed task is in the copy). Will deleting the original cause any harm?

Thanks in advance!

Best Answer

  • marcel_luthi
    marcel_luthi Coach
    Answer ✓
    Options

    You can delete them no problem, this will just cause the Output Dataset of this ETL not the be updated anymore, so you might want to be sure nothing you still use is connected to it, including:

    • Data Linage: If this is powering other ETLs or Views, make sure you switch it to the new output from your modified version.
    • Cards: If there are cards still powered by it, make sure you switch them to be powered by the new one.

    But in general deleting an ETL will have no other impact than the fact that the output datasets will no longer be updated. If you want to clean all up, you might want to delete those ones as well, mostly to avoid confusion if there are other users that might be building cards for example.

Answers

  • marcel_luthi
    marcel_luthi Coach
    Answer ✓
    Options

    You can delete them no problem, this will just cause the Output Dataset of this ETL not the be updated anymore, so you might want to be sure nothing you still use is connected to it, including:

    • Data Linage: If this is powering other ETLs or Views, make sure you switch it to the new output from your modified version.
    • Cards: If there are cards still powered by it, make sure you switch them to be powered by the new one.

    But in general deleting an ETL will have no other impact than the fact that the output datasets will no longer be updated. If you want to clean all up, you might want to delete those ones as well, mostly to avoid confusion if there are other users that might be building cards for example.

  • Victoria_G1
    Options

    Thank you!