Help the Newbie! SQL Connection not working anymore

Options

Backstory: My company bought Domo over a year ago, and the lone executive that wanted it left. I'm a Power BI Developer so I put it on the back burner. We just got acquired and the new president…likes Domo! Uh-Oh!

Problem: I need to access data on a database that wasn't previously connected. When I attempted to connect I got an error. I checked the way I had configured the other database, which still refreshes, but when I click save I get the same error!

TLDR: The old connection throws an error when I click save, but the connection works just fine if I don't save.

What does this error really mean, and why am I getting it when adding a database or saving an older database.

Best Answers

• MarkSnodgrass
    Answer ✓
    Options

I would suggest using Workbench if you are able. It is very easy to use. With the SQL connectors, you are going to need to make sure the correct firewall ports are open, which can be challenging for some organizations.

In Workbench, you can create an ODBC connection and then use the connection for your connection string. Workbench will transfer the data securely for you and gives you flexibility over scheduling and data transformations. It's definitely worth looking into.

**Check out my Domo Tips & Tricks Videos

**Make sure to <3 any users posts that helped you.
    **Please mark as accepted the ones who solved your issue.
  • MarkSnodgrass
    Answer ✓
    Options

You can install Workbench on a VM. That's where mine is installed. Just needs to be any Windows OS. A VM would be the best location because, as you said, if it is on your laptop, then it will only run when your laptop is on and connected to the internet.

• MarkSnodgrass
    Answer ✓
    Options

Federated datasets are typically fully materialized and come from another Domo instance or from Snowflake, etc. They currently can't be used in ETLs because of how Domo stores the data.