Beast mode to count number of occurrences within a time period

I'm new to Domo. I have a business request to count the number of instances when an event occurred more than once in a given date filter. Example: Event X happened 5 times in the selected date range, Event Y happened 4 times in the date range, and Event Z happened 1 time in the selected date range. The count for the date range should show 2 since X & Y happened more than once in the selected date range. 

I created the following beast mode to calculate the number of times an event occurred in the date range. I set the beast mode value to 1 if the event occurred more than once during the time period. My beast mode appears to be working as I see my beast mode set as 1 for Event X & Y but 0 for Event Z.

(CASE When

(Count(`Event`))

> 1 then

ELSE NULLIF(0,0)

END)

I was thinking I could then sum up the aforementioned beast mode within a new beast mode to show 2 as the measure, but unfortunately I have not been able to get the second beast mode to work. Any recommendations to get summarized calculation on a beast mode to work? Please let me know if you need any additional information.

Best Answer

• Ashleigh
    Ashleigh Coach
    Answer ✓

Okay, try adding the event name or type in the series column. This will basically allow the graph to count the number of events that appear multiple times so the y axis should have the 15. It would show the number of times something occurred which I know you do not want but it would only show if you hover over it.

This is my beast mode: case when COUNT(`Event`) > 1 then 1 else 0 end

This is what the graph looks like. I am using the same data I showed you before but am graphing it by week. So from 1/1/19-1/5/19 the occurrences was 2 for x, 2 for y, and 1 for z so the bar for that week shows 2. And then for the following week the occurrences were 1 for each so it shows 0.

That’s about the closest you will get I think.