Working with hh:mm:ss values

Hello everyone,

I am relatively new to Domo but have built a few recursive data set, dashboards, and cards already and really enjoy the product.

I am running into an issue however when trying to figure out how to best work with duration data that is formatted from the source system as hh:mm:ss.

I have created beast mode fields to convert each of these values into seconds using substrings and those work just fine. However, when displaying the data in a card, for example to show a total over given period of time, I would like the data to be converted back to hh:mm:ss format.

What is the best way to accomplish this?

Best Answer

• MarkSnodgrass
    Answer ✓

I took your sample times and was able to add them up using the following in Magic ETL:

Your group by would likely look different than mine, likely some sort of event id or something.

I used split_part to break out the individual time elements and get a total number of seconds and then use the group by to sum it up. The next formula tile breaks it back out to the individual time elements and the concatenate them together. I use Floor to get the highest whole number and then convert it to an integer so that it is a whole number.

**Check out my Domo Tips & Tricks Videos

**Make sure to <3 any users posts that helped you.
    **Please mark as accepted the ones who solved your issue.

Answers

• I would use the UNIX_TIMESTAMP function for both of your datetimes, which will convert them into numbers. You can then easily subtract the two to get the number of seconds between the two and then use the SEC_TO_TIME function to convert it back to a time format.

UNIX_TIMESTAMPIf called with no argument, returns a Unix timestamp (seconds since '1970-01-01 00:00:00' UTC). The return value is an integer if no argument is given or the argument does not include a fractional seconds part, or DECIMAL if an argument is given that includes a fractional seconds part.