Return values with condition on another column

Hi, I would like some help with beast mode as I'm very new to this.

I have a list of keywords, URLs and their amount.
There are duplicate keywords with different urls, one containing "/blah/" and one not.

Keyword URL amount
AAA xyz.com/aaa/blah/ 1
BBB xyz.com/bbb/blah/ 2
CCC xyz.com/ccc/blah/ -
AAA xyz.com/aaa/ -
BBB xyz.com/bbb/ -
CCC xyz.com/ccc/ 2

I would like domo to return the amount for URLs containing "/blah/,"

but if the amount is "-", return the amount for URLs not containing "/blah/".

In the above example I would be getting:

AAA 1

BBB 2

CCC 2

Does this make sense?

I know the latter is not correct, if someone can walk me through this I would be very grateful.

(CASE WHEN (`URL` = '%/blah/%') AND (`amount` = '-') THEN `amount` WHEN (`URL` NOT '%/blah/%') ELSE END)

or if there is another way to get around this, I'm all ears.

Comments

• It might go something like this:

CASE WHEN `URL` like '%blah%' AND `amount` > 0 THEN `amount` 
    WHEN `URL` NOT LIKE '%blah%' AND `amount` > 0 THEN `amount`
    END

Is the '-' an actual dash or is this a Null? If NULL  change the `amount` >0 to `amount` IS NOT NULL

Let me know if you have any questions,

ValiantSpur

**Please mark "Accept as Solution" if this post solves your problem
    **Say "Thanks" by clicking the "heart" in the post that helped you.

• Thank you very much ValiantSpur.
    The "-" is an actual dash (word), not null, so the calculation you have written seems to fit.

I'm stuck with another problem though, I can save the beast mode calculation with the "Share Calculation on DataSet" checkbox checked, and I can see it in the "measures" property, but when I put it in a filter and hit "save" the filter disappears.

I read a similar question regarding this problem but I don't quite understand where the "top layer of the card" means. (I am saving the beastmode inside a card analyzer.)

Can anybody help me with this?