Workflow function

Options

I am trying to create a workflow function and I am having issues. I am not a developer, so I need help. I finally was able to get beyond the errors but now I am getting errors when I save/deploy. Please help!

Here is the code:

const codeengine = require('codeengine');

function lookforunlocked () {

const api= '/api/social/v1/smart-alerts/disable?resourceId=${cardId}&resourceType=CARD ';

var newdisable = "true";

return codeengine.sendRequest("PUT", api, {"disable":newdisable}).catch(console.error);

}

module.exports.myFunction = lookforunlocked;

Best Answers

• Zoolander
    Zoolander Contributor
    Answer ✓
    Options

Kathy, it looks like your function is looking for a parameter called cardId (in your second line, ${cardId} is javascript to insert a variable in to a string, but your function isn't asking for any arguments.

As a non-developer also, I've had to figure this out. Let me try to explain.

Any values that you want to pass to the function as parameters, variables or arguments (devs use the term arguments) need to be included in the parenthesis after the function. So I think the first thing I notice is that you need to, at a minimum, add cardId in the parenthesis and have an input parameter (of the correct data type) that is a cardId. I would guess that is a NUMBER.

Second, you have 'single quotes' around your string on the second line (where you create the const API) and it should be surrounded by ` backticks `.

Your function is called "lookForUnlocked" - in looking at the end point are you trying to enable/disable insights for non-card owners? If so, the way you have the function written is hard coded to DISABLE them, not way to enable them.

I may propose the following changes to the function:

1 - add cardId as an input parameter, and make it a number
    2 - change the single quotes to backticks"
    3 - eliminate the newdisable variable as it's already harded coded in the API call