Removing GUID from Columns.

Hey all.

Hoping I could get some help with this one. I am fairly new to DOMO but I have done some research before I posted this.

I am looking for the best way to take data in a column and convert it to something else. Problem is that it does very from time to time. I have some examples of the existing data and what I would like it to look like after.

Example 1:

Existing text: SharePoint Group: SharingLinks.2e164b0a-d670-449f-b731-5da0a05853a4.Flexible.c033bacb-a4dd-464d-bedf-843ad35ef29d

To become: SharePoint Group

Example 2:

Existing text: O365 Linked Group: 009f6476-1726-4cb9-98dd-8ec4fb00e8b8

To become: O365 Linked Group

There may be more questions once I get this part working

Thank you.

Answers

• GrantSmith
    GrantSmith Coach
    edited November 2021

Hi @cjsmith718

It appears you're wanting the first part of the text before your colon. If that's the case you can use a Split Column tile in a magic ETL dataflow to get the first part of your string before the colon.

**Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below**
    **Did this solve your problem? Accept it as a solution!**
  • It looks as though you want anything before the colon to be your new field. You can use the SPLIT_PART function to extract this:

split_part(`String`,':',1)

This will take everything before the colon and ignore everything else.

**Check out my Domo Tips & Tricks Videos

**Make sure to <3 any users posts that helped you.
    **Please mark as accepted the ones who solved your issue.
  • Thank you.

Some of the cells in this column had text like AD Group: All Users

In this case, I didn't want to remove the text after the colon but I don't think that we have much of a choice without possibly using BeastMode. Just to clarify:

Example 1:

Existing text: SharePoint Group: SharingLinks.2e164b0a-d670-449f-b731-5da0a05853a4.Flexible.c033bacb-a4dd-464d-bedf-843ad35ef29d

To become: SharePoint Group

Example 2: