How do I build a card?

Hello,

I'm new to Domo. Wondering what best practices are for building cards?

Best Answer

• ST_-Superman-_
    Answer ✓

I prefer to draw out my metrics before getting started in Domo. How would I like to represent the data, what questions will different visuals answer. Once I get a good idea of how I want to present the data, I then start thinking about how to build that out in Domo. Is it a single card? Or would it work better as a story?

It would be easier to answer this question if you provided some more context. What data are you working with? What metrics or questions are you wanting to answer with it?

I would also recommend heading over to learndomo.domo.com for some great training resources.

“There is a superhero in all of us, we just need the courage to put on the cape.” -Superman

Answers

• ST_-Superman-_
    Answer ✓

I prefer to draw out my metrics before getting started in Domo. How would I like to represent the data, what questions will different visuals answer. Once I get a good idea of how I want to present the data, I then start thinking about how to build that out in Domo. Is it a single card? Or would it work better as a story?

It would be easier to answer this question if you provided some more context. What data are you working with? What metrics or questions are you wanting to answer with it?

I would also recommend heading over to learndomo.domo.com for some great training resources.

“There is a superhero in all of us, we just need the courage to put on the cape.” -Superman
  • I agree with @ST_-Superman-_ on all of these great points.

I would add that whiteboarding sessions are invaluable tools to creating cards that your team feels more invested in.

As far as best practices, in our organization we have a templated card description that allows anyone looking at any card to understand what they are looking at. I have provided it below feel free to tailor it to your needs!