Aggregation Issues with Beast Mode Calculation

Options
Cara
Cara Member

Hello, I'm new to Domo/formula writing and I'm running into issues on multiple fronts with a formula I've created.

Original objective: calculate a forecasted value based on stage, weight, and commit. Something like this:

If I include commit as a row, then it will sum correctly:

However, if I exclude commit as a row, then I get the error Multiple results encountered for same location in Pivot Table:

I've tried adding different combinations of FIXED and FILTERED based on reading this article, but I'm still getting the same problem (or the formula doesn't work at all).

While I can add commit and collapse the rows, it doesn't solve the error which is impacting other visualizations. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to fix this issue? Thank you in advance!

Best Answer

• JedP
    JedP Domo Employee
    Answer ✓
    Options

Hello @Cara ,

Great question, this is due to the aggregation rollup on the card and the dimension grouping used on the card. The **** error indicates that the grouping in your pivot table doesnt match the grouping in another part of your visual, in this case its your Beast Mode code.

A common way this happens is when you reference a column in your Beast Mode code that is not used on the card itself. Here is a good example of how it happens:

This Sample Beast Mode code uses the Item Color column, but that column is not used in the card. The Beast Mode code creates Item Color groups, and the card doesn't know what to do with those group because they were not used on the card.

CASE

WHEN `Item Color` = 'Blue' THEN SUM(`Order Quantity`)

WHEN `Item Color` = 'Black' THEN SUM(`Order Quantity`)

WHEN `Item Color` = 'Red' THEN SUM(`Order Quantity`)

ELSE 0

END

In the below screen shot we can see the error due to the Item Color grouping in the BM code above.