Can someone help me calculate employee turnover in Domo?

I'm relatively new to Domo and wanted to reach out to you about calculating Employee Turnover rate. I saw a previous thread (https://dojo.domo.com/t5/Beast-Mode-ETL-Dataflow/Turnover-Calculation-Beast-Mode-Help/td-p/31638) but wanted to see if someone could give me some tips on this specifically. 

I'm looking to get our turnover rate and have it be dynamic so that I can click between certain dates and have it be accurate. I've been asked by our Talent Design Manager to do this as he'd like to be able to click around and find out all turnover-related numbers as they relate to a time period (monthly, quarterly, yearly), department, etc... I'd love to be able to figure this out with someone's help!

I've included a sample picture of the data/columns that I have in my google sheet.

Thank you very much in advance!

2019-05-01_11-50-08.png

Best Answer

• ST_-Superman-_
    Answer ✓

This required me to use a dataflow.  I am more comfortable using MySQL, so that is how I built this data set.  If you would prefer me to walk through the ETL side of things, please let me know.

Step 1:

You need to add a calendar data set.  This dataset needs to list every day that you would be interested in being able to analyze.  Domo offers their own calendar data set which you can obtain by:1.png

This data set only goes back to Jan 1, 2010.  If you need to go further back, you will need to obtain another calendar data set.

Once you have your calendar data, we can move on to adding a MySQL data flow.

Step 2:2.png

Transform 1:

SELECT
    `dt` as `Date`
    FROM `calendar`

I saved that as "dates_table"

Transform 2:

SELECT
    k.`ID`,
    k.Name,
    k.Title,
    k.Department,
    k.Location,
    k.Team,
    k.Manager,
    k.`Hire Date`,
    k.`Termination Date`,
    k.`Termination Type`,
    k.`Terminations`,
    k.`Current Employees`,
    k.`Status`,
    d.`Date`,
    case