Information missing after Join Data

I have a report just under 3,000 rows. (Left Table)

I have a master list with just over 20,000 rows. (Right Table)

I'm applying a filter to narrow down the master list and then using Left Outer Join Data to pull matching criteria using an email address as my join key. Unfortunately I'm not getting all data from the master list (Right Table). Spot checking both lists before the Join Data shows all data is visible. After the Join Data only about half the rows have the data from the master list and is showing null while all rows from the report have the expected data.

Any idea what might be going wrong? I've use the Join Data function a few times and haven't run into this issue. I've tried to delete all datasets and ETL and recreate and the same thing keeps happening.

Best Answer

• GrantSmith
    GrantSmith Coach
    Answer ✓

Does the email address field you're using to join the tables together have the same values in both fields? Can you look at one where the additional data is missing in your master dataset based on the email in the report dataset and see if you can find the same email in the master dataset?

**Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below**
    **Did this solve your problem? Accept it as a solution!**

Answers

• This is because of using a LEFT join on your dataset. What you're saying is give me all the records in my report table and then give me related information int the master list table if it exists. If you want to get all the data from your master list and supplement it with your report list then you'd need to use a RIGHT join instead since your driving table is the right table (alternatively you can just swap the right and left tables and your left join should work).

• You'll have to forgive me, I'm sure I'm not using the best of terms to explain things.