Custom Month Filter for building cards

Hello!

I am currently building simple gauge cards that show sales for today, week, and month vs our goal for each of those. (see screenshot)

Is there a way for the 'This Month' card to have a custom date range each month and have that automated so I don't have to change all the cards each month to a new date range? I work in retail so each month is different and it depends on start of week not starting with the first of the month. For example this month (September) for us is from August 29th-Oct 2nd.

Hopefully there is a way without too much calculations. Thanks in advance.

Tagged:

Answers

• Its likely possible with a beast mode and just filter the card based on when that beast mode is the current month. The question is how do you define the current month?

**Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below**
    **Did this solve your problem? Accept it as a solution!**
  • Well that's the thing I'm trying to figure out. I know what all the months are from beginning to end so how would I use that is a beat mode? Then how does that filter the data automatically?

• You can do this if you set up a web form that has a list of when your start and end dates of each your months. Like this for example:

Next, create a MySQL dataflow that joins this web form dataset with your Shopify dataset so that you will have these start and end dates as additional columns to your main dataset. Here is an example joining the above webform to the covid dataset:

SELECT d.`date`, d.`confirmed_total`, m.`StartDate`, m.`EndDate`, m.`Display Name`
    FROM `domo_covid_time_series_tracker_data` d
    JOIN `test_start_end_months` m on d.`date` BETWEEN m.`StartDate` and m.`EndDate`

Finally, build your card off of this dataset and then create a beast mode called Current Month that looks like this:

(CASE WHEN `StartDate` <= CURRENT_DATE() and `EndDate` >= CURRENT_DATE() THEN 'Y'
    ELSE 'N' END)