Deleteing intermediary Dataset values after final OutputDataset

AnwarBham
AnwarBham Contributor
edited March 2023 in Datasets

Hi I Am new to Domo we have a lot of very large etls that are broken down in stages.

after each stage an intermediary dataset it created to the pont we have billions of rows in datasets that are only used as staging tables.

my question is these tables take up space.

once the final table is created, how can we delete all the rows from the input and intermediary tables.

we would still maintain the structure of the tables with column names but with 0 rows or data size.

i have tried creating a query via MYSql to delete from the etl and the source tables but it does not work

it seems very inefficiant to keep these tables that occupy space .

Best Answer

• SpencerWilcox
    SpencerWilcox Domo Employee
    Answer ✓

Hey Anwar, this is Spencer Wilcox, one of the consultants on the project. Totally agree that there are a ton of staging tables currently and that we are all aligned on consolidating these data flows down to fewer, more holistic ETLs. The reason it was built this way had nothing to do with tooling limitations.

It was built like this to make visible fine grain detail at each step of the business logic. This detail at each step was needed to suss out the business logic disagreements between several groups within the client and then to help build trust as we worked with those groups to align business logic around a common standard.

That job of alignment now being done, we agree that it is just fine (and preferable) to consolidate these data flows down to a much smaller count.

These consolidated flows can live in either our SQL environments or our Magic ETL environment.

Answers

• @AnwarBham you probably shouldn't delete intermediate tables and dataflows. It'll be impossible to reconstruct your pipeline without rebuilding the dataflows all over again.

1) you could refactor and consolidate your intermediate steps