How to calculate best?

Hi all,

I am pretty new to DOMO and would like to know if there is a hack/tip how I can best calculate data?

Currently I do have an excel-file with many many formulas and was wondering if I can "rebuild" them in Analyzer or better ETL?

Concrete example: There is one column filled with values between 1 and 10. I now want to know how the SUM of all 1s, 2s, 3s and so on is.

Then I want to build 3 new values: the SUM of 9&10, 7&8 and other values and with these results I want to do further calculations, like:

(SUM(9&10) minus (SUM all other values))/(SUM(9&10)+SUM(7&8)+SUM(all other values)) and best to get percent as result.

Answers

• @Juliane You will want to do these in Analyzer if you're planning on doing any dynamic filtering or date filtering. In ETL, you won't be able to do aggregations and still maintain your raw data. In those cases, you will want to do aggregations in Analyzer.

When you want to sum things that meet certain conditions, you will want to use a CASE WHEN statement, which is like IF...THEN... :

SUM(case when 'Field' = 'Condition' then 1 else 0 end) - This would give you a count of every row that meets the condition.

SUM(case when 'Field' = 'Condition' then 'Field' else 0 end) - If your field is a number, then this would give you the sum of every row that meets this condition.

If you have multiple conditions for a field, you can use IN instead of equals:

'Field' IN(1,2,3) would look at every row that has 1,2, or 3.

So for your example of a sum of 1,2,3:

SUM(case when 'Field' IN(1,2,3) then 'Field' else 0 end) - Not sure if you're going for a SUM or COUNT but you can use examples above to modify as needed.

If you want to look at what doesn't meet a condition, then you could use the following:

SUM(case when 'Field' <> 'Condition' then 1 else 0 end) - Or for multiple conditions it would 'Field' NOT IN(1,2,3)