Creating a calculated column in beast mode results in data being split up

Hi all - I am new to Domo and experiencing some issues displaying desired results in a bullet chart.

I have a beast mode calculation where it provides a value if one criteria is met, and another when a different criteria is met. In my bullet bar graph, when I select both criterias in the filters, values are now split into two sets where I'm expecting one consolidated total.

I also tried capturing both criterias in the case statement but it still displayed both sets. Am I writing the beast calculation incorrectly or should I be creating this formula in the ETL?

Bullet chart - results

Bullet chart - desired results

Best Answer

• MarkSnodgrass
    Answer ✓

Try removing the SUM functions in your beast mode and then in your target value change the aggregation type to SUM. I played around with the different variations and I was able to duplicate your issue when I added the SUM functions within the beast mode. Taking them out and using the SUM function in the aggregation type took away the duplication on the x-axis.

**Check out my Domo Tips & Tricks Videos

**Make sure to <3 any users posts that helped you.
    **Please mark as accepted the ones who solved your issue.

Answers

• Is there anything in your Sorting properties? I'm wondering if LOB is in your Sorting properties and that is causing the x-axis to be repeated.

• There are currently no sorts being applied.

• MarkSnodgrass
    Answer ✓

Try removing the SUM functions in your beast mode and then in your target value change the aggregation type to SUM. I played around with the different variations and I was able to duplicate your issue when I added the SUM functions within the beast mode. Taking them out and using the SUM function in the aggregation type took away the duplication on the x-axis.