Creating a Word Cloud chart from columns with phrases

Hi, I'm new to DOMO so would appreciate some advice on the following issue.

I'm trying to create a Word Cloud chart from columns with phrases. I followed instructions from Word Cloud Chart – Domo but when i get to step 7:

Copy and paste the content from the following SQL file into the new transform: call transform_2.sql

I get an error "Unknown column 'hazard' in 'field list'. My input dataset is 'Hazard' with column 'title'

CALL word_cloud(`hazard`, '`title`' , 'y','y' );

I have tried various permutations of the fields in the CALL function but it is still invalid.

Any help on this is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Mel

Best Answer

• GrantSmith
    GrantSmith Coach
    Answer βœ“

Hi @melyeo

I was playing around with this today and noticed that there's a bug with Domo's code where it's expecting you to provide additional columns besides just the single column. To get around this issue I just created a new transform where I added a new static string column:

SELECT `value`, 'HACK' as v2
    FROM ...

Then in the final output dataset I just selected the columns I needed and ignored my hack column.

SELECT `value`
    FROM `final`

This appeared to solve the problem for me.

**Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below**
    **Did this solve your problem? Accept it as a solution!**

Answers

• Hi @melyeo

look at your input dataset at the top. On the bottom of the box it’ll show the name of the table you can use. It’ll be in a grey box

• Hi @GrantSmith,

Thank you for the response!

The table is hazard as per below screenshot with the CALL function - unsure how to proceed next.

• @melyeo I followed the steps in my instance and initially got the error that you did. I figured out it is because you used ticks around the table name and it wants single quotes. I'm guessing the autocomplete when you started typing the table name put the ticks in there. Your statement should look like this: