Newbie23

Hello, I am new to DOMO and I am learning it as I work on this project.

I am trying to combine two datasets to calculate monthly supplier performance: qty rejected divided by qty received. I have dataset A, qty rejected, with tons of data. I did some calculations and was able to chart the defects of each supplier by month, see below chart.  Each color represents one supplier

I have dataset B, with monthly qty received per supplier, see below chart

Prior to grouping the data from dataset A into months, I tried to combine the two datasets using the magic ETL and Blend (DataFusion), but was not able to. Any tips?

Answers

• Hi @Newbie23, welcome to Domo and Dojo :)

A couple of questions for to then help with next steps:

• With your two datasets, did you experience an error when combining (essentially want to understand better about what you mean about "was not able to")?
    • Is it necessary to bring in all the fields from both datasets?
    • What's the unique identifier common to dataset A and B?

I believe that magic ETL is the best option because you can mold the data to suit your required format and also create formulas for your monthly supplier performances in a fast and effective way.

• Good Morning amehdad, thank you for your reply, let me respond to your questions.

1. No, I didn't get any error message when I was combining the data. I saw the new columns, but couldn't see the "qty received". I took me a while to realize that one dataset A, has daily data, and dataset B has the data in months.
    2. I am filtering the data from the two datasets, I am only using 5 columns from dataset A and about 3 from dataset B, both dataset have about 40 columns each.
    3. The comon identifier between the two datasets is the supplier name.

Thanks for your help.

• Hi again,