Date Filter Card Will Not Toggle

Hello! This is my first time posting on the Dojo.

I am trying to set up a 14-day and 30-day card filter for my org. The one used at the moment does not toggle. So if I select the 30-day card filter, it will stay at the 30-day filter if I deselect the check box or slide the slicer. It will only go back to default if I clear the selection in the filter view header.

Is there any known solutions? I've tried everything I can think of so far.

As reference, I am currently using this beastmode for the filter :

Case 

when `Invoice Date` >= SUBDATE(CURRENT_DATE(),interval 30 day) then 'Rolling 30 Days'

End

Best Answer

• jaeW_at_Onyx
    jaeW_at_Onyx Coach
    edited August 2022 Answer ✓

@jkami you would want to take a look at the Variables beta (or is it GA? who knows??)

The Variables feature would allow you to pass a value "num_rolling_days" into your beast mode.

Case 

when `Invoice Date` >= SUBDATE(CURRENT_DATE(),interval num_rolling_days day) then 'Rolling Days'

End

until that time comes, you do have to do a ton of data gymnastics to give users a toggle between 15,30, and 60 days.

You say you can't use your View in ETL due to 'monstrous size'. how big are we talking here? If you design your pipeline to take advantage of Magic 2.0 + Partitioning (which i believe is in GA) you might be able to have a dataset with a monstrous size that you can still update.

Jae Wilson
    Check out my 🎥 Domo Training YouTube Channel 👨‍💻

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the ❤️ in the post that helped you.
    **Please mark the post that solves your problem by clicking on "Accept as Solution"

Answers

• Hi @jkami last I checked, there are some limitations with using beast modes as page filters. I would start by using a formula tile in MagicETL to create your Date Filter column and use that for your filter instead.

• @MichelleH