Rolling Average for Each Category

I have a dataset containing total monthly units by month and by person. I'd like to calculate the 3 month rolling average for each person. How should I group the data so that the rolling average calculation goes by person and not by date?

Tagged:

Answers

• This is how my dataset looks so far

• Hi @JR_S1L

You'd need to keep your data as is to partition based on name to get the lag for the prior 3 months to get your rolling average. You can use a rank & window tile in Magic ETL to calculate the lag just make sure you're partitioning by the name and that you're sorting/ordering by the month

**Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below**
    **Did this solve your problem? Accept it as a solution!**
  • Hi @GrantSmith ....I am new to lag functions, can you explain a bit further? This is what I have so far when calculating the lag using Magic ETL...how would I then calculate the rolling average?

• I've done a writeup of lag functions and rolling averages before utilizing Beast Modes but the idea at the end is the same concept. You just need to calculate the Lag for 1 month ago and 2 months ago into three separate fields. Then add all 3 together (current month, 1 month ago and 2 months ago) and divide the total by 3 using a formula tile. That will get your rolling 3 month average.

This is depending on how you want to calculate the rolling three months. Is that the current month and the prior 2 months or the prior 3 months excluding the current month? If you want the prior 3 months just calculate the lag for 3 months ago and add that value instead of the current value.

If you're interested here's the writeup using a beast mode (but if your rolling average won't need to have filters dynamically applied to it I'd recommend keeping it in the magic etl): https://dojo.domo.com/discussion/52679/domo-ideas-conference-beast-modes-rolling-averages#latest

**Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below**