How to Capture Transactional Data Changes in Domo

We are loading sales order and purchase order data via Workbench from our ERP to report on booked orders, open orders, etc. However, our sales orders may be opened for a long period of time and frequently change. For example, the customer may revise their quantities ordered throughout the month prior to shipment. The only thing that changes is the value of the 'Quantity' field on the sales order line item.

As a complete newbie, I'm looking for advice as to the best way to capture these trasactional changes? I would prefer not to do a full dataset replacement during each load as the dataset is fairly large (and growing) and we would like to have relatively frequent updates. If I append data, I'm afraid I will get duplicates.

Any thoughts on the best way to handle this?

Best Answer

• Domo_Diesel
    Domo_Diesel Domo Employee
    Answer ✓

Hi tpmonahan,

If you want to avoid a full replace, then you could try snapshotting while appending.  This way, using a dataflow, for each unique order/id you could select the latest batch date or the max batch id.  This will pull only the latest data for each unique order/id, giving you accurate quantity amounts.  

Let me know if you want assistance setting this process up.

Best,

Clarke

Answers

• Domo_Diesel
    Domo_Diesel Domo Employee
    Answer ✓

Hi tpmonahan,

If you want to avoid a full replace, then you could try snapshotting while appending.  This way, using a dataflow, for each unique order/id you could select the latest batch date or the max batch id.  This will pull only the latest data for each unique order/id, giving you accurate quantity amounts.  

Let me know if you want assistance setting this process up.

Best,

Clarke

• kshah008
    kshah008 Contributor

@tpmonahan, did Clarke's response help answer your question?

• Thanks, Clarke. We'll try that out and see how things go.