How to build card|total headcount based on the Hire date and termination date

Abhijith
Abhijith Member
edited March 2023 in Datasets

Input file

Hi,

I am new to Domo and have been asked to build a card that displays the total headcount for the year to date based on the Hire date and termination date. However, this selection should be used to check for the last two years as well.

1.      What is expected is to show the total active employees for that month for that period as displayed here.

2.      Then based on that, the total turnover% per month for employees with < 1-year service and employees with > 1-year service to be worked out.

Guidance on whether this could be done through the ETL or beast mode and how to achieve this would be really appreciated.

Thanks

Best Answer

• GrantSmith
    GrantSmith Coach
    Answer ✓

dt was the date field I was using. You’ll need to tweak the ETL to replace dt with your hire date field and term_dt with your termination date field.

**Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below**
    **Did this solve your problem? Accept it as a solution!**

Answers

• Hi @amehdad ,

Thanks for your response. But in this case, with the first Q, this will only show the total hired at that month. For example, it will not show in the below format, wherein it summarises the total for that month  i.e. provide a total number of employees working during that month.  

SEP OCT NOV DEC

440 420 430 450

• Hi @amehdad ,

I was just exploring and then based on some hints, I managed to introduce a date dataset into the ETL and then ran into some other issues which I am sorting out. I do not have any other ETL which I could use it join based on ID. I will revert back to you soon.

However I came across this (How Many Staff Do We Currently Have - Multiple Dates Logic In Power BI Using DAX | Enterprise DNA ) in Power BI and I think I'm trying to replicate a similar approach in Domo. Kindly let me know your thoughts on it. Thanks.

• @amehdad