Demo Marketing Calendar added to DOMO-DOJO

DuncanDomo
DuncanDomo Contributor

Hi I'm Duncan Domo and I'm new to this!! So hopefully posting in the right place.

Summary: I built a Demo Marketing Calendar added to DOMO-DOJO

I had a problem and I found a solution thanks to a video/advice from @jaeW_at_Onyx

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UO9YUfkSh7I watch this if you want to get into complex FY calendars.. my problem was more simple.. But this is fantastic video.. thanks again @jaeW_at_Onyx I thoroughly recommend browsing the channel and watching the Jae shows you how vids...  

Problem: want to display marketing activities on DOMO calendar but only takes one date argument (great for webinars, not good for events that have start / end date)

Solution: Explode start / end date into rows per day (3 day event = 3 rows)

By joining to a "SQL numbers table"

I also did a hyperlink in a table for a fictional activity URL link for fun.. so it's 3 demos for the price of 1 today.

Part 1 - Create the SQL numbers table

Solution run stored proc in SQL transform with double while loop

See: https://domo-dojo.domo.com/datacenter/dataflows/47/details#history

Step 1 -

step 2 - this uses 1 based index as for date handling - you could change this to start at 0 for other things

step 3 call it - you can amend the number if you need bigger numbers.. or if you need crazy big numbers talk to @jaeW_at_Onyx who can do magic maths with cross joins..

step 4 - select * that bad boy into an output table..

Bing bang bong, you can join to that table anytime you need to explode a date range.. read on...

Part 2 - Explode the date range (take cover) using ETL

See: https://domo-dojo.domo.com/datasources/0d91fd99-8bb2-4c2e-b96b-daa6fd421770/details/overview

1. First calculate the number of days of event (using date diff)

2. Join number of days to you SQL numbers table

3. Calculate "display date" by adding day number to start date.. BOOM you are calendar ready