How to add a Jitter to a chart (a Scatter plot in my example)

Hi,

I have a number of risks which are each ranked on a scale of 1 to 4 on 'Likelihood of occurring' and 'Impact of Occurrence'. When plotting the individual risks on a scatter plot, because of the relatively few scoring options, I have many points sitting on top of each other. I'm relatively new to Domo and wondering if anyone ever implemented a jitter factor in charts to overlapping points which would create clusters of similarly rated points?

Thanks in advance for any ideas and assistance.

Best Answer

• GrantSmith
    GrantSmith Coach
    Answer ✓

Hi @user076872

You could utilize a beast mode with the RAND function to add your own jitter for the categorization. For Example:

`Rank` + (RAND() * 0.5 - 0.25)

You could then use that for your scale instead of just the straight 1-4 values. The downside is that you can't use the categorization of the string values in your graph.

It'll get you something that looks like:

The jitter distance is the 0.5 and it's then subtracting half of that value to center your jitter around the category value (essentially it makes the jitter be +/- 0.25 around your category value). The example picture above is using the day of the week number for the categorization.

**Was this post helpful? Click Agree or Like below**
    **Did this solve your problem? Accept it as a solution!**

Answers

• GrantSmith
    GrantSmith Coach
    Answer ✓

Hi @user076872

You could utilize a beast mode with the RAND function to add your own jitter for the categorization. For Example:

`Rank` + (RAND() * 0.5 - 0.25)

You could then use that for your scale instead of just the straight 1-4 values. The downside is that you can't use the categorization of the string values in your graph.

It'll get you something that looks like: