Creating Custom Region Maps for Dummies

jstan
jstan Contributor

Hi all, I struggled for some time on how to create custom region maps for several of our SBUs when they didn't fit cleanly into state or county boundaries and output it in an SVG file.  I am not a graphic designer or a programmer, so this guide is coming from someone that is really good at PowerPoint and fiddled with the Domo add-on for illustrator.  First, let me start by saying that if you can segment your region by state, county or other geography already in a Domo map, use the Create Regions tool under Admin >> Company Settings >> Add Chart >> Create Regions and select the map you want to start with. 

The first graphic is what I originally built using that tool and a US county map.  We split the state of California and Nevada, so I used the FIPS to Zip dataset (found under Domo Dimensions dataset in connectors) to create a dataflow to capture every US county and associate it with a region.  You could also do this in Excel or Google Sheets and upload it to Domo.  I also ended up removing Alaska, Hawaii and other areas not in the continental US because the data labels on maps based on our regions was messy when I included outlaying areas (Domo tries to center the label over the entire area). You just uncheck to box to show sub-regions not included in the dataset - for this to work, you will need to list out every county or geography you want shown on the chart, even if you do not have any data you want to populate a specific area with, otherwise you will end up with white holes in the chart.