ETL joining causes an output dataflow that is too big?

I am very new in using Domo, so hopefully I can explain my situation well.

I have three datasets that have different column names and structures, even though each dataset has same columns too, like 'Employee Name' and 'Employee ID'. 

I tried to join them (using inner join) and run preview with 10k limit, but it showed the message 'Preview took too long to respond. Try running with less data."

I then ran the preview with 1k limit and it worked. 

So I saved and run the dataflow, but it kept on running without showing any result, and my output dataflow ended up with 0 rows. 

Anyone can advise what am I doing wrong here and what can I do to fix this? Thanks a lot.

Comments

• Just to make myself clearer, I joined the three datasets using Employee Name column.

• Chips
    Chips Domo Employee

Hi @user04285 welcome to the community, and to Domo.

Magic ETL can be incredibly powerful, here are a few Magic tips that I think may be helpful in your situation:

- Start simple/small, trying just running this as a simple join between two of your datasets before bringing in the third. Take care to note the differences between Inner, Outer etc.

- Make sure there are no duplicates in your Key Column, you can do this by putting a "Remove Duplicates" function on the data thread before plugging it into the join

- Employee Name is typically a tough name to use as a Join Key because it is often free-form. I always look for a system-generated (optimal) or at the very least an identifier field that is numeric (so maybe Employee Name)

- Lastly, a bit of a nuance with a Left Outer joins. Sometimes you will get an error message that says "Greater than 10K duplicates, can't be joined". In those cases, you can change it to a Right Outer (and reverse the dataset positions) and it will work

All that being said, if you will upload a couple screen shots of your datasets and the Magic ETL itself I am happy to have a look!