Streams API - benefits?

Are there any speed benefits to using the Streams API for uploading data?

For example if you wanted to upload a billion rows as quick as possible.

I've written a python script to upload data via the streams api and it doesnt seem much faster than the workbench. I've even tried writiing the script in an asynchronous manner hoping that the csv files / "parts" would upload concurrently and much faster.

After all this, it seems to be about the same speed of upload as using the workbench.

Any clarification for use cases for this API? Is it faster?

Thanks,

Seth

Comments

• I too am trying to upload rows as quickly as possible. I'm not an expert, but it seems that if the bottleneck is the upload bandwidth of one machine/network, you could use the Streams API to distribute the uploading of parts across multiple machines/networks.  Do you agree?  I think Workbench only operates from one machine.

• After further research and testing i realize that the "slowness" to the streams api that I was seeing was really just an error in my script. 

Once i correctly executed the asynchronous upload using the streams api I was able to upload a csv that was 6.2 Million rows and around 130 columns wide in 3.5 minutes. 

• Nice work. Did you try/ find any advantages to using gzip compression?  Or is that just uncompressed CSV?

• That was actually uncompressed. If I had Gzipped it, im sure the speed would have increased. Probably to somewhere around 1 minute vs the 3.5 minutes i was seeing. We just tested a similar dataset and successfully uploaded a gzipped 6 Million row csv in 60-90 seconds.